Queen of Hearts

“What should I blog about next?” I moaned to The Dude one freezing cold spring morning, ” This blogging is not as easy as it seems…” The Dude, with one eye on Bugs and the other focused on the telly ( hey its Grand final weekend after all…go Pies!) replied ” Just write about something that is close to your heart!”

And then it hit  me ….. something about knitting and family… my Queen of Hearts socks – perfect to share with the world!

Socks for the queen of our hearts!

I made these little babies for Bugs so that she would have something to remember her babyhood by ( of course the zillions of photos that The Dude and I have been taking of her on a almost daily basis would also serve as a good reminders but let us not go into that now).
 
The sock pattern, which was named “Queen of Hearts” was from the “Cute Knits for baby feet”  book which I refer to regularly ( seriously people, socks are real good for a quick baby project) and were fairly quick to knit up – check out the picot edging – what a nice detail to add to socks! 

Oooooo Fancy!!

Once the socks were knitted up, I stitched on the white hearts -6 in total- using duplicate stitch.

Sewed them on!

Since this was the first time I did duplicate stitching , it took me way longer to stitch on the hearts than to knit up the socks itself! No worries, at least I learnt something new and hopefully it will be quicker the next time round! Here’s a parting shot of Bugs modelling the socks – here you can see the hearts around the ankle portion of the socks a lot clearer, I hope this post made your day because knitting up these little cuties sure brought a smile to my face!!

Hearts on my ankle ... trendy!

About littlepocketsofhappiness

Hi everyone!! I am Daphne or Daffy - part time home cook and knitter and full time mommy to little Bugs! I love to share what has been cooking in our little kitchen or what I have been crafting - on my needles in my spare time for our little family and friends! These are the little pockets of happiness which bring sunshine into our simple life!
This entry was posted in Baby, Knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment